What do the AQF levels mean?

In the AQF there are 10 levels, with each level defined by a set of learning outcomes that should be attained by a graduate of a qualification at that level. There are 14 AQF qualification types across all education and training sectors and each, with the exception of the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education, is located at one of the 10 levels. Griffith University is a registered Higher Education provider and able to offer AQF qualification Level 5-10 as well as non-award programs of study.

You can find more information about the AQF at Australian Qualifications Framework.

Qualification Type

AQF Level


Level 5

Advanced Diploma
​​​​​​​Associate Degree

Level 6

Bachelor Degree

Level 7

Bachelor Honours Degree

Level 8

Graduate Certificate

Level 8

Graduate Diploma

Level 8

Masters Coursework

Level 9

Masters Extended

Level 9

Masters Research

Level 9

Doctorate (incl. Professional Doctorate)

Level 10

Was this answer helpful?

Answer ID: 2327